AUTO RACING PACKAGE: Auto Racing Glance (2024)

All Times EDT




Site: Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, practice (ESPN2, 9-10 a.m., 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (ESPN, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Pocono Raceway (triangle, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Kasey Kahne won the last of his two 2013 victories, passing Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon with two laps left.

Last week: Gordon raced to his record fifth Brickyard 400 victory, passing Kahne on the final restart.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. With six regular-season races left, Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski lead the series with three victories. Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Aric Almirola, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. … NASCAR suspended Hamlin’s crew chief, Darian Grubb, and car chief, Wesley Sherrill, for six races Tuesday after the Joe Gibbs Racing entry failed inspection following his third-place finish at Indianapolis. Grubb was fined $125,000, and Hamlin and team owner Joe Gibbs were docked 75 points in the driver and owner standings. JGR said it will appeal. NASCAR found issues with several of the covers in the rear firewall of the driver compartment. … Earnhardt won the June race at the track. … Gordon has a record six Pocono victories. Hamlin has won four times at the track.

Next race: Cheez-it 355, Aug. 10, Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen, New York.





Site: Newton, Iowa.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN, 4:30-6 p.m.), race, 8 p.m. (ESPN, 7:30-10:10 p.m.).

Track: Iowa Speedway (oval, 0.875 miles).

Race distance: 218.75 miles, 250 laps.

Last year: Brad Keselowski raced to the third of his seven 2013 victories.

Last week: Ty Dillon won at Indianapolis for his first Nationwide victory, driving for owner and grandfather Richard Childress.

Fast facts: Chase Elliott leads the season standings, four points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith and 11 in front of Elliott Sadler. Elliott won two weeks ago at Chicagoland for his third victory of the year. … Sam Hornish Jr. won the May race at the track in Joe Gibbs’ No. 54 Toyota. … Keselowski is commuting from the Sprint Cup event at Pocono. … Kenny Wallace is making his first Nationwide start of the season. The 50-year-old Wallace has nine victories in a series-record 543 races. He’s driving RAB Racing with Brack Maggard’s No. 29 Toyota for race title-sponsor U.S. Cellular. … NASCAR bought Iowa Speedway last year.

Next race: ZIPPO 200, Aug. 9, Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen, New York.





Site: Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 6:30-7:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 10-11:30 a.m.), race, 1 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 12:30-2:30 p.m.).

Track: Pocono Raceway (triangle, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 150 miles, 60 laps.

Last year: Ryan Blaney won on the second attempt at a green-white-checkered finish.

Last week: Darrell Wallace Jr. won the Mudsummer Classic on the dirt at Eldora for his second victory of the year for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch, the winner in all five of his series starts this season, is skipping the race to let Erik Jones drive the No. 51 Toyota. Kyle Busch Motorsports has eight victories in the first 10 races of the season, with Jones also winning. … Blaney leads the standings, four points ahead of Matt Crafton and 10 ahead of Johnny Sauter.

Next race: Careers for Veterans 200, Aug. 16, Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Michigan





Site: Lexington, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 5:30-6:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3:50 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (road course, 2.258 miles).

Race distance: 203.22 miles, 90 laps.

Last year: Charlie Kimball raced to his first series victory to extend Chip Ganassi Racing’s track winning streak to five.

Last races: KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Mike Conway won doubleheader races at Toronto on July 20.

Fast facts: Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves leads the season standings, 13 points ahead of teammate Will Power. Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay is third, 69 points back. The Andretti Autosport driver leads the series with three victories. … Chip Ganassi’s Scott Dixon won at Mid-Ohio in 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2012. Ganassi Racing has nine victories at the track. The team is winless this year. … The Indy Lights race is Saturday (NBC Sports Network, Sunday, 6-7 p.m.).

Next race: ABC Supply Wisconsin 250, Aug. 17, Milwaukee Mile, West Allis, Wisconsin.





Site: Kent, Washington.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10 p.m.-midnight); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Pacific Raceways.

Last year: Matt Hagan raced to the fourth of his five 2013 Funny Car victories. Morgan Lucas won in Top Fuel and Vincent Nobile topped the Pro Stock field.

Last week: Courtney Force beat father John Force at Sonoma, California, for her female-record fifth career Funny Car victory. Khalid alBalooshi won in Top Fuel, Jason Line in Pro Stock and Eddie Krawiec in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: There are three regular-season events left until the six-race Countdown to the Championship. Robert Hight, a five-time winner this year, leads the Funny Car standings — 119 points ahead of teammate and owner John Force. The 65-year-old Force has won twice this year. … Doug Kalitta has a 46-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel. Brown leads the series with five victories, and Kalitta has one. Erica Enders-Stevens tops the Pro Stock standings, and Andrew Hines leads in Pro Stock Motorcycle. They each have four victories.

Next event: Lucas Oil Nationals, Aug. 14-17, Brainerd International Raceway, Brainerd, Minnesota,




Next race: Belgian Grand Prix, Aug. 24, Spa-Francorchamps Circuit, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

Last week: Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo won the Hungarian Grand Prix for his second victory of the season. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso was second.




ARCA RACING SERIES: ModSpace 125, Friday (Fox Sports 1, 5-6:30 p.m.), Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania. Online:

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown: Hustle on the High Banks, Friday, Belleville High Banks, Belleville, Kansas. Online:

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Ironman 55, Saturday, Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, Pevely, Missouri. Late Model: USA Nationals 100, Saturday, Cedar Lake Speedway, New Richmond, Wisconsin. Online:

AUTO RACING PACKAGE: Auto Racing Glance (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Carmelo Roob

Last Updated:

Views: 6315

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (65 voted)

Reviews: 80% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Carmelo Roob

Birthday: 1995-01-09

Address: Apt. 915 481 Sipes Cliff, New Gonzalobury, CO 80176

Phone: +6773780339780

Job: Sales Executive

Hobby: Gaming, Jogging, Rugby, Video gaming, Handball, Ice skating, Web surfing

Introduction: My name is Carmelo Roob, I am a modern, handsome, delightful, comfortable, attractive, vast, good person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.